Energize me

So I feel it time to write a FOOD post. Everyone likes food. Am I right? Sure I am!

However, I don’t want you to be mislead. This is not a lavish dinner or complex entrée recipe. This is more of a “I-need-to-go-for-a-run-right-now-but-I-am-so-hungry-that-I’d-rather-skip-the-run-and-eat” snack. I generally get this kind of hungry feeling when I have a post-work run. Usually by 4pm I’m pretty famished! It’s not that I hadn’t eaten a good lunch, but when 20 six year olds need your undivided attention all day energy levels tend to plummet a bit. By 4pm I NEED ENERGY!

Brendan Brazier (founder of Thrive Fitness and my personal hero) shares a wealth of information in this books: Thrive Diet, Thrive Foods, and Thrive Fitness, as well as through his online Thrive Forward program. I’ll talk more about Brendan in a later post, but for now you should try his Direct Energy Bites (as found in his Thrive Diet book). They are pretty damn tasty and super easy to make.

IMG_7404

Direct Energy Bites

5 dates

2 Tbsp coconut oil

2 tsp lime juice

1 tsp lemon zest

sea salt to taste

IMG_7395 IMG_7397

Throw all ingredients in a food processor. Blend until smooth. Roll into bite size balls. Wrap individually in cellophane. Freeze or Refrigerate. Eat when energy levels plummet – ideally before your a workout.

IMG_7398

This recipe makes about 8 Energy Bites, which can be stored in the freezer for up to a couple of months (but I highly doubt they’d even last that long without you eating them first). I individually wrap each Energy Bite in cellophane wrap, store them in a plastic freezer bag, and chuck ‘em in the freezer. I usually eat 1 or 2 Energy Bites (depending on how hungry I am) before my after work run.

On another note, today’s scheduled training run was a 7km tempo run. I left my place at about 6:30am and proceeded to run in the freshly fallen snow. Again, sidewalks were a bit icy and the fresh snow made traction a bit difficult. My pace was 8:49/mile. I can’t wait until all this snow melts! I can definitely foresee frustration with my future tempo run paces. Especially when comparing to my tempo runs in the fall. Someone please tell me that the snow will melt and speed will come back. Thanks!

4 responses to “Energize me

Leave a Reply

