Favourite things: {winter running}

Yesterday while on my long run I was thinking about what I would post about. Some ideas came to mind… recovery drinks, recipes, fueling for the long run…

Then as I sat down to write I decided that I would scrap all prior ideas and talk about some of my favourite WINTER running things. It is still winter after all. It can be difficult to find winter running gear, especially for those who run in cold climates (I’m not talking -5C – sorry southerners). It’s taken me years to figure out layering and find durable products that are ACTUALLY going to keep me WARM. I can never go by magazine articles on winter running, because frankly running in crops and a long sleeve is not an option for me, thank you very much. When it’s -30c I need to dress warm, and when it’s -10c I need to dress warm yet cool enough so not to overheat. Ohh the complex nature of winter running!

So here is my Favs List {Winter Running}.

1. Layering is essential for a successful winter run. I have my go-to MEC hooded pullover fleece that I often wear over top of a long sleeve and under jacket. I guess in short it would be my mid-layer piece, hah. This is not the exact one I own, but it’s quite similar. (Mine is sans zipper)

MEC Khamsin Hoodie

MEC Khamsin Hoodie

2. Goes without saying, but I really do LOVE Lululemon. They make great workout gear – fits great, looks nice, versatile. However, I love their stuff more for summer running. Their winter line is never quite warm enough for the cold Yukon winter days,  but now that it’s warmer, I do wear a few of their pieces (mainly for layering).

LW3037S_0001_1

Run: Swiftly Tech Long Sleeve   

Cool Racerback Tank

Cool Racerback Tank

3. Smartwool socks are great – the PhD Outdoor Lite Crew are a staple of mine. I like how they come up higher than the regular Smartwool running socks – this keeps my ankle warm (very important people!).

PhD Outdoor Lite Crew

PhD Outdoor Lite Crew

If it’s really cold, I double up – a pair of toe socks underneath the PhD Outdoor.

images

Injinji Midweight Toe Socks

4. Another fantastic merino wool company is Icebreaker – out of New Zealand. I wear a lot of their products. On colder days, I wear my Bodyfit 260 Long Sleeve.

Bodyfit 260 Long Sleeve

Bodyfit 260 Long Sleeve

To keep my bum warm (the bum is hard to keep heated!), I wear Sprite Hot Pants.

Sprite Hot Pants

Sprite Hot Pants

I also wear their glove liner underneath a pair of warmer mitts. Oasis Glove Liners are the key to keeping your fingers warm, especially when you need to take off your mitts to open gels packages or fix shoelaces.

large-1

Oasis Glove Liners

And for my head, I’ve been wearing my Pocket  Hat for 4 years now!

Pocket Hat

Pocket Hat

5. What about around my neck? Well Buff has just what I need: a polar fleece bandana buff.

Fleece Bandana Buff

Fleece Bandana Buff

6. On my feet I wear New Balance WP1010GP. They’re part of the NB Minumus Running line, which makes them an awesome shoe for winter minimalist running. I’ve been searching for the perfect trail shoes for YEARS, and I think I’ve finally found them! Not to mention, the tread is great, so I don’t often worry about slipping.

New Balance WT1010GP

New Balance WT1010GP

7. When it’s too cold to wear tights (which is often), I’ve been wearing my Outdoor Research fleece lined windproof pant. I can’t find the exact model on the website (I bought them last year), but Salvo Pants are quite similar. The differences are the my pants have a drawstring bottom.

Outdoor Research Salvo Pants

Outdoor Research Salvo Pants

Of course this list doesn’t touch on EVERYTHING I own and run in during the winter months. But it covers the basics – and some of my favourites –  that keep me warm on those long winter runs. If it had everything I wore regularly, I’d be adding long johns, mitts, jacket, etc. It really feels like I add about 5-10lbs of clothing during the winter! Needless to say I am REALLY looking forward to the simplicity of summer runner. Someone please remind me why I live in Whitehorse again? Hah.

What are your must-haves for winter running?

Why do I live in Whitehorse? 

Leave a Reply

