Run like a girl

Let’s talk International Women’s Day. What does this day mean to you? To me its a day to honour the women who stood up for their rights and fought back against gender inequality. It’s a day to reflect on the changes that have taken place over a short period of time. It’s a day to be proud of who we are and how far we have come.

tumblr_m2ouv0aUbO1rpnocso1_1280

Thank you, Kathrine Switzer

It wasn’t too long ago when women where not encouraged to run, let alone compete in racing events. To use women AND runner in the sentence – well that’s completely unheard of! Allowing a woman to run a marathon – are you crazy, your uterus will fall out!  And even if women were allowed to compete in a race, it certainly was not alongside the men – there are separate races for that, dear!

40 Years Ago, Six Women Changed Racing Forever (Runner's World)

40 Years Ago, Six Women Changed Racing Forever (Runner’s World)

As I sit here now I wonder what my life would be like without running. It’s become such an important part of who I am that I could never imagine a life without it. I run to be free. To push limits. To feel strong. Please don’t tell me I can’t run – because I can and I will.

So today (or tomorrow or anytime) when you’re lacing up to head out for your run, take the time to think about those courageous, selfless, dedicated, strong women who changed the sport for women, forever. Thank you. 

source: pinterest

source: pinterest

2 responses to “Run like a girl

Leave a Reply

