bRUNch

As winter slowly comes to an end, subtle hints of spring are starting to appear (mainly daylight savings time). Either way, I figure that now is as better time than any to start lacing up those shoes and getting back out on the road (if you haven’t been already doing that all winter).

I felt the best way to kick off the new running season was by getting everyone together, out for a run, and filling bellies with food. In order to accomplish all this I hosted a bRUNch. (It’s really all in the name. Speaking of which, how do I go about getting it trademarked? Hah).

images

Now, what is bRUNch you ask? Well in short it’s let’s go for a RUN followed by eating lots of delicious FOOD. As stated above.

And that’s exactly what we did. We headed out for a run on a beautiful, Yukon morning then proceeded to eat a beautiful spread of amazing food. All homemade of course – I have some very talented friends in the kitchen.

IMG_0170


First, I want to apologize for my lack of photography skills. The following are two dishes that were served – Baked Oatmeal (made by yours truly) and The Life-Changing Loaf of Bread (made by my friend Amelia). You’ll find the recipes by clicking on the following photos.

The Baked Oatmeal is from the cookbook Super Natural Everyday by Heidi Swanson (aka 101 Cookbooks blogger). She has a wonderful selection of whole food, vegetarian recipes on her blog and in her cookbooks. The Baked Oatmeal recipe is only in her cookbook, so I’ve linked you to the Lottie + Doof  food blog – they have replicated Heidi’s exact recipe. 

IMG_0174

Baked Oatmeal (101 Cookbooks)

Amelia made an absolutely delicious wheat free bread. It really is a Life-Changing Loaf of Bread. The recipe can be found on My New Roots – fantastic food blog. I really recommend a slice of this bread slathered with almond-hazelnut butter, blueberry jam, and coconut butter. SO GOOD.

IMG_0171

The Life-Changing Loaf of Bread (My New Roots)

Did I take any pictures of the actual people who attended bRUNch? Of course I didn’t. I think the food ended up overshadowing everything and everyone. Though in all honesty, I had good intentions of taking pictures (but then had completely forgot).Oops!

So if you’re looking for a way to get together, consider bRUNch. A perfect opportunity to combine good food, great company & a fun run.

Do you do bRUNch? 

What would you bring to bRUNch?

3 responses to “bRUNch

  1. Pingback: Feed Me! | Eat, Run, Travel·

Leave a Reply

