Super easy run

There is no such thing. It’s a myth. Really, it is.

I have a hard time believing in so-called ‘easy runs‘. I’ve been running for years, and not once have I considered a run ‘easy’. Pretty much each and every one of my runs are challenging. Where’s the ‘easy’?

First, I guess, I should define ‘easy run’. After reading many running magazines and running blogs, I’ve come to believe that a so-called ‘easy run’ should be one when: a) you feel amazing b) you’re not huffing and puffing c) your legs gracefully take you up hills and down hills d) your legs actually feel good and e) feel as if you can keep running at your maintained pace forever. Typically, ‘easy runs’ tend to be scheduled on a day after a hard workout.

In many of the running blogs/training logs I’ve been reading as of late, I’ve noticed a lot of entries that look kind of like this: “Super easy run today. Just giving my legs a break after yesterday’s 20miler. 8miles at 8:00/mile”. Is this for real? Was this run really ‘super easy’? If it was, then what am I doing wrong?

source: pinterest

source: pinterest

Maybe this should read: “You get better. Runs get harder”.

To me each and every run is a challenge. When I’m not running a long run, I’m running a short fast run. When I’m not running a tempo, I’m running intervals. When I’m running to work, I’m wearing a backpack. When I’m running, it’s generally at 6:00am or after a long day at work. When I do have a short slow run, I’m trying to loosen up my legs from my long run or intervals the day before. ‘Super easy run’, yeah right! 

Are ‘easy runs’ a myth? 

How do you define an ‘easy run’? 

And ‘super easy run’… ? 

4 responses to “Super easy run

  1. If you are truly making every run a challenge, you need to dial back your training. After long runs, you should follow it up with an “easy run” meaning at least 30 seconds slower than goal pace for a significantly lower mileage to prevent soreness. Every run should not be faster and faster or longer and longer, but this is definitely something I struggle with. On short runs, I just want to get it done so I end up running too fast which delays recovery. Good luck and run easy!

    • Hi Ani! Thanks for the comment. I guess what I meant by this post is that each run presents a challenge in itself. “Easy runs” may be labelled as “easy” but they aren’t always necessarily “easy” (or the “easy” I’m hoping for). Even if they are a slow recovery run the day after your long run, your legs are still sore (which to me is still a tough run). 🙂

  2. Hi Sam,

    Interesting point about the “easy run”. I think that term is used as a head game to convince ourselves that we can in fact do it. For
    me, mentally I just need to hear the words “easy run” to actually make it out the door. But you’re right- there is nothing easy about running.

    • Hi Andrea, I completely agree with you on also labelling it “easy run” to get out the door. Running is full of head games, and we sometimes need to pull out any trick that’ll get us out running.

Leave a Reply

